Basics of PMP Exam you need to know! – Part 1/2

PMP certification Exam is a well-structured exam by PMI (Project Management Institute) for project managers. The exam is based on a guide provided by PMI. This guide is called PMBOK and current version is 5th edition but a new version is expected to be out in September 2017. PMBOK has a unique way of explaining the project management practices in two parts -knowledge areas and process groups. PMBOK is divided in 47 processes but in next PMBOK 6th Edition it will be divided in 49 processes which in turn divided horizontally into 10 knowledge areas -  Integration Management, Scope management, Time management, Quality Management, Communication Management, Human Resource Management, Cost Management, Procurement Management, Stakeholder Management, and Risk Management. 

There are some changes in PMPBOK 6th Edition where Time Management will become Schedule Management; And Humana Resource Management will become Resource Management. There are 5 Process Groups - Initiating Process Group, Planning Process Group, Executing Process Group, Monitoring And Controlling Process Group and Closing Processing Group. In PMBOK 6th Edition there is no update about process group, only number of processes will increase from 47 to 49. Each Process has its input, tool and techniques and outputs.The PMP exam is a 4-hour, 200 questions, multiple-choice, computer-based online exam that leads to the Project Management Professional credential.  Questions are divided across all process groups as per below table.



Project Management Process Groups

Knowledge Areas

Initiating Process Group

Planning Process Group

Executing Process Group


Monitoring and Controlling Process Group


Closing Process Group


Integration Management


4.1 Develop Project Charter


4.2 Develop Project Management Plan


4.3 Direct and Manage Project Work

4.4 Monitor and Control Project Work                              4.5 Perform Integrated Change Control

4.6 Close Project or Phase

Scope Management



5.1 Plan Scope Management        5.2 Collect Requirements      5.3 Define Scope 5.4 Create WBS



5.5 Validate Scope 5.6 Control Scope   


Time Management



6.1 Plan Schedule Management        6.2 Define Activities                6.3 Sequence Activities                6.4 Estimate Activity Resources 6.5 Estimate Activity Durations 6.6 Develop Schedule



6.7 Control Schedule


Cost Management



7.1 Plan Cost Management        7.2 Estimate Costs 7.3 Determine Budget



7.4 Control Costs


Quality Management



8.1 Plan Quality Management


8.2 Perform Quality Assurance

8.3 Control Quality


Human Resource Management



9.1 Plan Human Resource Management


9.2 Acquire Project Team                            9.3 Develop Project Team                            9.4 Manage Project Team



Communication Management



10.1 Plan Communications Management


10.2 Manage Communications

10.3 Control Communications


Risk Management



11.1 Plan Risk Management     11.2 Identify Risks 11.3 Perform Qualitative Risk Analysis                11.4 Perform Quantitative Risk Analysis                11.5 Plan Risk Responses



11.6 Control Risks


Procurement Management



12.1 Plan Procurement Management


12.2 Conduct Procurements

12.3 Control Procurement

12.4 Close Procurements


Stakeholder Management


13.1 Identify Stakeholders


13.2 Plan Stakeholder Management


13.3 Manage Stakeholder Engagement

13.4 Control Stakeholder Engagement


Questions Percentage







Total Number of Question






The PMP certification aspirants should have 35 hours of education by any Registered Education Provider (R.E.P of PMI), PMI Chapter or training institute to quality for the exam.

Please stay tuned for the next part 2/2 of the blog with eligibility criteria of the exam, languages supported, Fees and exam types.


Leave a Comment